Moving Forward and Good German Food

Okay, so the pity party is now over. I told you it wouldn’t last long. Things are definitely looking up this week. I wanted to share with you one of my favorite things about Europe, the food. German food is definitely a little less flavorful than what I am used cooking Puerto Rican food. That doesn’t mean it doesn’t taste good. It has its own flavor. I have thrown my restricted diet to the curb much to my stomach’s distress. I am back on track now after my demise but the food was good.

We went to our new village’s festival called Dorffest. I love how Germans celebrate just about everything. Every weekend, you can find a festival. Communities come together quite frequently here. It’s quite a nice change from being shut up from my neighbors in DC.

This is a french fry! Yes, it is, on a stick. It was fried right in front of me. So good!

This is a french fry! Yes, it is, on a stick. It was fried right in front of me. So good!

I would like to introduce you to a piece of my childhood, when Coke tasted like Coke. Yes, it exists without HFCS and it's still just as good as it once was.

I would like to introduce you to a piece of my childhood, when Coke tasted like Coke. Yes, it exists without HFCS and it’s still just as good as it once was.

For those of you who know me well, you know I don’t drink Coke. I was way to curious not to try it, and I was so glad that I did.

Little man enjoying the festival. That is NOT his beer.

Little man enjoying the festival. That is NOT his beer.

The next picture is from Kindsbach at an Italian/German restaurant. You have never seen so many Italian/German restaurants in your life here. The food is still excellent.

German rump roast w/ onions & potato croquettes. AMAZING!

German rump roast w/ onions & potato croquettes. AMAZING!

We even have made our way into Landstuhl and had dinner and some amazing ice cream. The restaurant was authentic German. I had schnitzel and potatoes with a glass of wine. The kids are really liking schnitzel and ice cream, but not so much anything else.

photo (26)

Cute street the restaurant is on.

Schnitzel and more potatoes

Schnitzel and more potatoes

Lastly, I give you my first German food truck experience. If you aren’t a brat fan, you would be after having these. Germans know brats and know them well. I was happy to have some veggies in the form of cabbage. My mom has been asking me about the dessert. With my sweet tooth, I am pretty shocked at myself for not seeking out strudel. I guess that is next on the list after my stomach recovers from my binge. Emma did make her first Apfelkuchen (apple cake). I have to change a few things but I will share it when it is ready.

photo (23)

My first German Food Truck. Delicious brat, red cabbage, & of course, potatoes.

My first German Food Truck. Delicious brat, red cabbage, & of course, potatoes.

Cheers,

B:)

Leave a Reply

